Names

Romeo and Juliet (Act 2.2), William Shakespeare:
What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other word would smell as sweet;

Great question Will, what’s in a name? I think depending on the writer, an awful not. Now I don’t know about you guys, but I have spent literally HOURS looking for the right name for a character; meanings, connotations, mythical links, historical links, cultural and geographical background, all of these must be considered. I have spent so long looking for names, on so many different name sites, that Google has changed my adverts to baby stuff for a week.

I have trolled everywhere from Yahoo answers to BehindTheName.com to Hippymum.net to try and find the perfect moniker for my fictional people, the result: an array of random, overly complicated yet brilliantly symbolic names that no one will ever give a monkey’s arse about. Because nobody cares, and nobody accept hardcore fans will be googling the meaning of your character names. And yet I will continue to spend hours upon hours looking for them.

I know its redundant, but there’s a level of ceremony about it, of finding that perfect name and christening your protagonist Roman st. Knightwood Because MeAnInGs. 

What are your thoughts on character names?

Do you spend hours searching? Or are you more of a Susan will do kinda writer?

Let me know

E. Bonner

 

Leave a Reply

